What happened to Fanboy Friday this week?

After a couple months of posting my weekly Fanboy Friday roundups, it finally happened. Splat. My FS writing time Yugo was run over by the 18-wheeler of my day job. I was going to try and hustle together something for y’all this weekend, but as Monday bears down on us, it’s not looking too likely. Instead, I thought I’d take a moment to give you a better idea of who I am and where my time goes.

The online world is a twisted way to experience life, on that we can all agree. I’ve made a whole bunch of friends over the years – that’s without the quotes, as I truly consider them friends – but the fact that I only know them through an avatar and a username means that I miss whole huge blocks of their story. I suspect the same is true in reverse. You know that I’m a scenery designer, and maybe you’ve read a few blog posts here, but that’s only one small slice of what I’m up to.

A typical day in my life starts at 5:30 or 6 each morning. I work from home, so the morning commute is a trip to the coffee pot to throw on some brew, followed by padding into my office to flick the computer on. I read some forums, catch up on news, and check my email before diving into my work day. From reading some of the impatient forum postings about how long Emma Field is taking, I get the feeling that people assume I’m pretty much 100% on to scenery design by this point. I wish.

At least half of every day is taken up by servicing one of my web clients, House of Antique Hardware. I do design work, copy writing, and some programming for their site. Just recently, we completed a large project in which we rolled out their Period Home Collections, groups of reproduction house hardware grouped by style and era. I worked with their photographer to design the headers for each collection, wrote the intro copy, designed the page layouts, and created all the graphics, ads, and Flash movies to support the launch.

Before I got into FS work, web design was my trade. It’s still my primary business, although the last couple of years, the scenery has begun playing a larger role. In addition to House of Antique Hardware, I designed a site for a local client, Woodburn Company Stores, that requires constant updates, as does Biotech Insight, my longest-running client at 10 years. And just recently, I did my first full WordPress site for Underhill Training. The combined total of all those keeps me hopping.

And of course, there’s the noveling. I’ve been a writer since I was a kid, but in the last five years it’s become more of an obsession. I’m nearly done with my second manuscript, Last Thursday, a murder mystery set against the backdrop of the Portland arts scene. This follows The Big Spin, a 500+ page behemoth that I completed a couple of years ago, and which is still awaiting revisions.

November is a major month on my calendar, as it’s National Novel Writing Month, a frenzied 30 days in which writers all over the world try to give birth to a 50,000 word novel from scratch. For the slow writers among us (Bill raises hand), it’s a chance to just go all-out crazy and fly through the pages. I pulled an idea from a recent newspaper article, and I’m about to dive into it after I finish this post and have a quick shower.

Flight sim design is definitely a labor of love, and one I’m not likely to give up anytime soon. For those who wonder what takes me so very long, I offer this post. Just be thankful I have any time at all for it! I know I am.

But enough about me. Tell me, what happens in your life between flights? Seriously, I’d like to know.

One response to “What happened to Fanboy Friday this week?

  1. As a purchaser of Plum Island, and looking forward to 7s3 and Emma, I greatly appreciate your fantastic scenery design work. I’m going to upgrade to an I7 CPU just to better enjoy the upcoming FTX NA Blue and Twin Oaks scenery.

    I’ve got a full-time day job — tried scenery design back in the early SCASM days and found it overwhelming, but do play with ADE and Instant Scenery.

Leave a Reply

