Plum Island Details

It’s getting depressing numbering the days I’ve been working on this. Such a small airport, I told myself… shouldn’t take more than a couple of weeks. When will I learn? My appetite for getting the project completed and out into the world is once again eclipsed by my need to shoehorn in a few more details.

I’ve spent the last couple of days adding signage, which is always my favorite part of a project. Somehow the rules, regs, and warnings make it seem so much more real, you know? So anyway, here’s the latest round of pics.

Remember the discussion about the guy who’s essentially squatting on the last 400′ of runway? I added the house down on that end yesterday. Helldiver has taken some pics, at great risk to life and limb, so that I can add the junk cluttering up the end of the runway as well.

And last, but definitely not least, this new series of airports has a name. I’m calling it the “100 Dollar Burger” series, in honor of those intrepid GA fliers who put their credit cards on the line every day to punch holes in the sky. The way avgas prices are climbing, pretty soon it’ll have to change to the “500 dollar burger”. Here’s the result of last night’s logo design session:

7 responses to “Plum Island Details

  1. This new scenery of yours looks great! Your artistic ability at rendering airports and attention to detail is amazing. My favorite airport to fly in FS9 is Reading, PA. I hope you do some controlled airports as well.

  2. Thanks! For the forseeable future, I’m involved in re-creating uncontrolled airports. After Plum Island comes the reworked FSX versions of Sitka (PASI) and Petersburg (PAPG) airports in Alaska, followed by the fictional Emma Field in Washington state. Sitka is the largest uncontrolled field I’ve done, with daily 737 service. It’s a little wiggy to consider airliners flying into uncontrolled airports, but it happens all the time up there.

    Thanks for the nice comment.

  3. Stop counting Bill…… the results are all worth it 🙂 Looking great !

  4. Ah that looks great! Looking forward to Sitka as well, still a favourite of mine in FS9. And Emma Field…well everyone knows about Emma Field. Quite curious how the FSX version will turn out to be.

  5. Looks Great! I stopped at this little field last year and instantly fell in love with it. Snapped a few pics. Looking at your images, you’ve really nailed the look and feel of the location.

    Dave

  6. Pingback: Plum Island in der Beta-Phase | FSNews

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

