North Shore – Day 27

After all these years building scenery, today was a first for me. I made an airplane! A glider, to be precise, the Schweitzer 2-22 that lives in the grass at Plum Island. It turned out to be simpler than I expected, although it’s a lot less detailed than an actual FS aircraft would be, using photo textures masked the simplicity of it and made it acceptable as scenery.

First, some background. Here’s the real thing parked at 2B2:

I found a small, low-res 3-view drawing that worked okay in Max and started building…

After about 5 hours work (hey, I never said I was fast), the sim version was ready to roll onto the grass at the sim 2B2.

Next up: tractors!

4 responses to “North Shore – Day 27

  1. Wow, looks excellent Bill. If you release this scenery I bet people will ask whether the aircraft is flyable anyway 😉

  2. Thanks, Sebastian. It’s edging up on done now… much to my excitement. I want it out there in the world!

  3. There’s about five or six flights in the glider each weekend day during the summer. It’s towed behind the Olive Drab L-19. The charge is $75 bucks a ride which lasts between an half hour to 3/4 of an hour.

  4. Hey!
    I strolled around while seeking nice FS blogs and in fact I knew to have approached a very nice one when I saw yours 🙂
    My intention was to contact you regarding a new flightsim project. We’re (my friends and me) out for opinions and feedback from our common FS community regarding our web project… it is our intention to offer features which are wanted of the whole community to offer something new!

    I’d grateful if you contact me for further details. You won’t need to do any kind of work except checking our page, giving some feedback or simply enjoy the already given features. To avoid promotion, I’d be happy if you response to my given adress. Maybe you as an admin can see the hidden mail adresses of this comment…?

    Kind regards
    Lukas

Leave a Reply

