Bear Gulch Goes FSX

One of my favorite small scenery projects of the last few years is Bear Gulch Aviation, a farm turned airstrip located on the shore of Lake Cushman, on Washington’s beautiful Olympic peninsula. I’m happy to say that this airfield and dock has gotten a full makeover for FSX, including enhanced terrain based on aerial photos of the real thing (with liberal artistic license taken, since there’s no airport there in “real” life). Like its predecessor, Bear Gulch FSX is slated for inclusion in the upcoming RealAir Scout package, also reworked for the new version of the simulator. I don’t have an exact timetable yet, but it looks like weeks rather than months. In the meantime, you can check out some screenshots of the Gulch, courtesy of Nick Churchill, on my site. The shots are dual purpose, as I’m also testing out an AJAX-driven slideshow script that I might use in the next generation of my website.

A runway that crosses a bridge… extra incentive to keep to the centerline.

4 responses to “Bear Gulch Goes FSX

  1. Steve "SgtMajor" Rapp

    Hi Bill,

    As always your work is top notch! I had written a few years ago (has it been that long) that I had been traveling to Lake Cushman in FS for my “Private” get away location for quite sometime now, and about fell out of my chair when I found my favorite Aircraft Designer teamed up with one of my favorite Scenery designer’s to put me a little spot right on “MY” lake. (smile)

    I’ll be waiting and watching as all of us demented FS folks do…… looks really great! Thank You so much for all your hard work. Your scenery is truly a Masterpiece!!

    Many best wishes,
    Steve

  2. Thanks a bunch, Steve! Responses like that just make me want to do more work like this. The scenery is moving right along, so hopefully it won’t be too long before you can try it out for yourself.

    Bill

  3. Hi Bill,

    I believe I’ve seen your name mentioned once in a while at a forum I frequent. I’m surprised I stumbled across your Blog!

    Since this is the first time I get to see your work as far as images go I must say you do some superb work.

    My blog focuses on Flight Sim and Graphical media. But mostly on FS related items.

    Keep up the good work!

    Excellent,

    Alex

  4. Hey, I’ve seen your old Bear Gulch, but the new version makes the old one look like
    it’s from FS2000. I also saw one of the nighttime pics of your airfield, won’t the flames burn your aircraft?
    I’ve done some small work with scenery, and one made a small forest fire, with fire trucks and all…, but when I flew too close to the ground, the game would just say I crashed. So how will this one work?

    and by the way, when’s the new one going to come out???

Leave a Reply

