Speed-writing challenge

Last year about this time, I was gearing up for my first-ever crack at one of the craziest ideas I’ve heard in a while. National Novel Writing Month happens every year, from November 1 – 30. The idea is to sit down and, grammar and spelling be damned, write a 50,000-word novel in a month. This isn’t a contest of creativity, but more of a raw endurance and speed challenge. Last year, tens of thousands of people from all around the world took part in this mass hysteria.

Often, the results are, um, “less than brilliant”, but you never know what might happen. I was so enthralled with the ideas I came up with last year that I’ve devoted a large block of my time since then to revising the original rough and hasty prose into something marketable. I’ve even gone so far as to talk with a few agents about the book, a teaser for which can be seen on a site I set up just for the novel.

If you’ve ever wanted to write, this might be the cherry bomb you need to get you off your keister and into action. Give it a go!

Leave a Reply

